Josip Jelačić square

Josip Jelačić square - the main square in Zagreb and "heart" of the city was named after Count Josip Jelačić.
Today's buildings were created from the beginning of the 19th century. On their facades are visible different architectural styles from neo-styles of the 19th century, Biedermeier and Art Nouveau to modern and postmodern.

 

Josip Jelačić square - the main square in Zagreb and "heart" of the city was named after Count Josip Jelačić.
Today's buildings were created from the beginning of the 19th century. On their facades are visible different architectural styles from neo-styles of the 19th century, Biedermeier and Art Nouveau to modern and postmodern. Square has repeatedly changed his name. In the beginning market was located over there so it was called Harmica, by Hungarian word for customs, which was collected on goods.
In 1848, while Josip Jelačić was still alive, the square is called after him. After World War II the square is called Republic Square. The old name was restored in 1990.
The  Square is the central of social events, and also residents meet daily over here next to the most famous places in the city - "the clock" and "the tail".
Today, at the square are many cafes and shops, and it is among the most beautiful squares in Europe.
Below fountain Manduševac is the source that supplied Zagreb till the end of the 19th century. Court documents about the persecution of witches mention this source as their main meeting point.
The monument to Josip Jelačić is work of the Austrian sculptor Anton Fernkorn. Set in 1866 and removed in 1947. After citizens petition monument was returned in 1990, at ban's birthday on October 16th. Since then, the monument is oriented to the south, and not north and Hungary as in the original lineup of the 19th century.
 

Where you can experience this: