Stone Gate

Stone Gate Iis part of remains of the fortress which was built around Gradec, between 1242 and 1266, and today’s form is from the 1760s. Stone Gate are the only preserved of the four gates of the old city gates. In the past the main road to Gradec was precisely through the Stone Gate.

 

Stone Gate Iis part of remains of the fortress which was built around Gradec, between 1242 and 1266, and today’s form is from the 1760s. Stone Gate are the only preserved of the four gates of the old city gates. In the past the main road to Gradec was precisely through the Stone Gate. Thus, during epidemic of Black Death in 1647 all the city gates, in addition to the Stone Gate, were closed. In the 17th century above the Stone Gate is set mace to protect against witches and the stone lion was protector of doom, and below chains were hanged. There is a story that these chains originating from English ship "Victory" of Admiral Nelson who took part in 1805 in the naval battle of Trafalgar against Napoleon. Today, the Stone Gate is the most famous shrine where the faithful light candles and pray. Inside the shrine there is a votive chapel with an image of Our Lady of the Stone Gate, which is also the patron of Zagreb. The fire that broke out on May 31 in 1731, and which destroyed a number of houses at the former Gradec, painting of Our Lady remained completely intact, and since then the citizens of Zagreb come to Stone Gate to express their prayers and thanksgiving.

Where you can experience this: